Project Description

Deuteronomy Bhekinkosi Zeblon (“DBZ”) Ntuli was born at Gcotsheni, Eshowe, on 8 May 1940. After working for three years as an announcer/translator/producer for the Zulu service of the SABC, he joined the staff of UNISA as a language assistant for IsiZulu, in the Department of African Languages. Ntuli acquired a Master’s degree in 1974 and was promoted to the position of senior professional assistant the same year and to chief professional assistant in 1977.

In 1978, Ntuli completed his D Litt degree with UNISA with the paper The poetry of BW Vilakazi. In 1979, he became UNISA’s first black associate professor and professor in 1982. He was Head of the Sub-department of IsiZulu from 1992 until his retirement in 1999. Ntuli supervised 11 MA students and served as a promoter for 5 doctoral students.

His first book, UBheka, a novel, was published when he was 21 years of age. Ntuli translated many publications into isiZulu, including Nelson Mandela’s Long Walk to Freedom (Uhambo olude oluya enkululekweni).

Professor Ntuli was a founder member he still serves on the committee of the Usiba Writers’ Guild. Ntuli is a freelance reviewer, editor and translator for various publishing firms.


  • 1962 –UBheka, Shuter and Shooter.
  • 1970- Ngiyoze Ngimthole, Educum.
  • 1978-The Poetry of B. W. Vilakazi.  Pretoria:  Van Schaik.
  • 1978- Uthingo lwenkosazana.  Johannesburg:  Educum Publishers.
  • 1980-Ugqozi, 1.  Pretoria:  Van Schaik.
  • 1985-Ngamafuphi: Izindaba Ezimfushane.  Pretoria:  De Jager-Haum Publishers.
  • 1987- Umtshingo.  Durban:  KwaZulu Booksellers.
  • 1988- Woza Nendlebe.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
  • 1990- Isicamelo: Izindaba Ezimfushane.  Pietermaritzburg:  Reach Out Publishers.
  • 1991- Lalela-ke: Imidlalo yomsakazo.  Pretoria:  Out of Africa Publishers.
  • 1992- Indoni yamanzi – Induku.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
  • 1994- Isibhakabhaka.  Pretoria:  Actua Press.
  • 1996- Amandl’Esam bane.  Durban:  Y Press.
  • 1997- Impilo engcono.  Pretoria:  Kagiso Publishers.
  • 1998- Yekantni Ulzuzenza.  Cape Town:  Kwela Books.
  • 2001- Izinyembezi zothando.  Pietermaritburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
  • 2002-Ugqozi olumaphiko.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
  • 2002- Imibhalo ka-D.B.Z. Ntuli: Incwadi yokubonga. Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
  • 2003- Amadlelo aluhlaza.  Pretoria:  Shuter and Shooter.
    2003- Amaseko. Heinemann Publishers (Pty) Ltd.
  • 2006- NginguSosobala Mbatha.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.